Migraines have played an active role of my life since the 1st grade. This was a year before my surgeries, and around the same time that I started getting T.I.A’s, or Transient Ischemic Attacks. I recall thinking that some invisible force was slowly squeezing my head from the outside, unable to make it stop. The headaches would get so bad that I would eventually vomit.

Back then, I had no idea what was causing the migraines and how to prevent them. It was a scary time for me, both due to a lack of knowledge about them and the pain they caused me. I have still had migraines post-surgeries, however there have been less and less every year.

After years of having migraines, I have noticed patterns in which I get them. In my experience, consistent lack of sleep has been known to lead to a migraine. Dehydration as well as tiredness have also been determined as factors towards migraine frequency.

My migraines usually start as I wake up in the morning. It often hurts to look at light or hear anything loud. Any movement of the head results in searing pain that subsides into a dull throb. As soon as I wake up with a migraine, I try to gauge its severity. If the pain is unbearable, I take an Advil. If not, I simply go back to sleep.

I usually wake up a few hours later with a dull headache. The pain has changed from sharp, erratic, and extremely painful, to a consistent and dull throb. The rest of the day after a migraine is sluggish, with no room for strenuous physical activity or horsing around. The day seems to have a haze over it, one that dulls everything.

This summer I have had several migraines. They have prevented me from going fly-fishing with my family, visiting the DMZ in Korea, and going to church. Migraines can take away an activity or even day from your life through limiting availability and activity. To best prevent migraines, I try to take my daily dose of Aspirin (prescribed to me since surgeries), get to bed early (too late for that tonight), and stay hydrated.

Thanks for reading, and feel free to share any of your migraine stories with me via email or through the comment section.

Quick update: I will soon be making an email specifically for Moyamoya and blog-related content.

Leave a Reply

